Home About Taj Mahal Views of Taj Mahal UNESCO - World Heritage Taj Visitors
The Taj COMPLEX I In Perfect Harmony


Éléments Prelud Autres I Concepts I Symbolisme I Interprétation I Éléments

Les Principes I La symétrie I La composition I Le Design I Mise-chaussée du complexe du Taj Mahal



LES PRINCIPES



Principes de Shah Jahani Architecture et tels qu'ils sont exprimés dans le Taj Mahal:

Le complexe du Taj Mahal explore le potentiel du jardin bord de l'eau à la fois un idéal et un funéraires utilitaires monde de construire, il exprime aussi dans la forme canonique du patrimoine architectural principes de la période.

  1. Rationnelle et stricte géométrie.
  2. Perfect planification symétrique en mettant l'accent sur la symétrie bilatérale (qarina) le long d'un axe central des principales caractéristiques. Dans un schéma typique qarina Shah Jahani deux caractéristiques symétriques encadrent un élément central dominant.
  3. Une hiérarchisation des matières, formes et couleurs.
  4. divisions triadiques liés ensemble dans des formules proportionnelle. Celles-ci déterminent la forme de plans, élévations et ornement architectural.
  5. Uniformité des formes, classés par accents hiérarchique.
  6. Sensuous attention aux détails.
  7. Une utilisation sélective du naturalisme.
  8. Symbolisme.


Ces principes régissent l'ensemble de l'architecture de Shah Jahan. Ils sont exprimés le plus grandement et plus cohérente dans le Taj Mahal.


La symétrie

L'architecture a été d'exprimer ce concept à travers une parfaite symétrie, l'harmonie des relations proportionnelles, et le marbre blanc translucide face qui donne la pureté de la géométrie et une planification rationnelle de l'apparence souhaitée immonde. Le mausolée est élevée sur une version enrichie du plan de neuf fois plus favorisée par les Moghols pour les tombes et les pavillons de jardin.

Une variante est utilisée dans la grande porte. Dans le mausolée du plan est exprimée dans la symétrie axiale transversale parfaite, de sorte que le bâtiment est axé sur la chambre funéraire centrale. Et l'organisation interne se reflète sur les façades, qui présente une composition parfaitement équilibrée en vue de l'extension des axes qui génèrent le plan.

La symétrie bilatérale dominé par un accent central a été généralement reconnu comme un principe d'ordre de l'architecture des règles visant à la puissance absolue, comme une expression de la force de décision qui apporte équilibre et l'harmonie », un symbole frappant de la stratification de la société aristocratique sous autorité centralisée. Un classement symétrique jusque dans les moindres détails ornementaux, est particulièrement frappant l'utilisation die-hiérarchique de la couleur.



LA COMPOSITION


Ainsi l'ensemble du complexe Taj comportait deux volets, chacun suivant la conception de jardins riverains; bagh Chahar et d'une terrasse, un jardin riverain vrai et une variante sans littoral dans la configuration des deux unités subsidiaires, où le Jilaukhana rectangle correspond à la terrasse bord de l'eau, et le bazar de la Croix-axial et le caravansérail élément à la chahar bagh.



LA CONCEPTION


Les historiens et les poètes de Shah Jahan état que le Taj Mahal a été de représenter une réplique terrestre de la maison de Mumtaz Mahal dans les jardins du Paradis. Cela ne doit pas être rejeté comme la rhétorique judiciaire Shah Jahani: elle exprime vraiment le programme du mausolée. Afin de réaliser l'idée de la maison de jardin hatological aussi étroitement que possible, la sortie précédente canonique de mausolées impériaux, où le bâtiment se trouvait au centre d'un jardin de la Croix-axialement prévues ou chahar bagh, est abandonnée, et la conception bord de l'eau que était devenu le type de jardin en vigueur résidentiel de Agra a été choisi à la place, et a grandi à une échelle monumentale.



Mise-chaussée du complexe du Taj Mahal


L'axe principal nord-sud traverse le canal de jardin et la rue des bazars. On peut y définir les traits dominants: le mausolée, la piscine, la grande porte, le Jilaukhana, la porte sud de l'Jilaukhana, et le Chauk (carré) du bazar et complexe caravansérail.


Back

copy; Department of Tourism, Government of Uttar Pradesh (INDIA)
Best viewed at 1024*768 pixels resolution | Website Maintained by: Adysoft | Disclaimer | Site Map

Taj Mahal Timing |  Online Ticket Booking |  Tour Booking |  Genral Faq |  Doís & Doníts |  Enquiry
 
 
Home About Taj Mahal Views of Taj Mahal UNESCO - World Heritage Taj Visitors
The Taj COMPLEX I In Perfect Harmony


Prelud Other Elements I Concepts I Symbolism I Interpretation I Elements

The Principles I The Symmetry I The Composition I The Design I Ground Layout Of The Taj Mahal complex

 



THE PRINCIPLES



Principles of Shahjahani Architecture and as they are expressed in the Taj Mahal:

The complex of the Taj Mahal explores the potential of the riverfront garden as both an ideal funerary and a utilitarian worldly construct; it also expresses in canonical form the architectural
principles of the period.

  1. Rational and strict geometry.
  2. Perfect symmetrical planning with an emphasis on bilateral symmetry (qarina) along a central axis of the main features. In a typical Shahjahani qarina scheme two symmetrical features flank a dominant central feature.
  3. A hierarchical grading of materials, forms and colours.
  4. Triadic divisions bound together in proportional formulas. These determine the shape of plans, elevations and architectural Ornament.
  5. Uniformity of shapes, ordered by hierarchical accents.
  6. Sensuous attention to detail.
  7. A selective use of naturalism.
  8. Symbolism.


These principles govern the entire architecture of Shah Jahan. They are expressed most grandly and most consistently in the Taj Mahal.


THE SYMMETRY

The architecture was to express this concept through perfect symmetry, harmonious proportional relationships, and the translucent white marble facing which gives the purity of the geometrical and rational planning the desired unworldly appearance. The mausoleum is raised over an enriched version of the nine-fold plan favoured by the Mughals for tombs and garden pavilions.

A variant is used in the great gate. In the mausoleum the plan is expressed in perfect cross-axial symmetry, so that the building is focused on the central tomb chamber. And the inner organization is reflected on the facades, which present a perfectly balanced composition when seen from the extensions of the axes which generate the plan.

Bilateral symmetry dominated by a central accent has generally been recognized as an ordering principle of the architecture of rulers aiming at absolute power, as an expression of the ruling force which brings about balance and harmony, 'a striking symbol of the stratification of aristocratic society under centralized authority'. A symmetric grading down to the minutest ornamental detail, particularly striking is die-hierarchical use of colour. The only building in the whole complex entirely raced with white marble is the mausoleum. This hierarchic use of white marble and red sandstone is typical of imperial Mughal architecture



THE COMPOSITION


Thus the entire Taj complex consisted of two components, each following the riverfront garden design; the chahar bagh and terrace; a true riverfront garden and a landlocked variant in the configuration of the two subsidiary units, where the rectangle Jilaukhana corresponded to the riverfront terrace, and the cross-axial bazaar and caravanserai element to the chahar bagh. That lost complex was an integral part of the Taj Mahal, forming its counter-image, according to the basic Shahjahani architectural principle of symmetrical correspondence.



THE DESIGN


The historians and poets of Shah Jahan state that the Taj Mahal was to represent an earthly replica of the house of Mumtaz Mahal in the gardens of Paradise. This must not be dismissed as Shahjahani court rhetoric: it truly expresses the programme of the mausoleum. In order to realize the idea of the hatological garden house as closely as possible, the canonical out of previous imperial mausoleums, where the building stood at the centre of a cross-axially planned garden or chahar bagh, is abandoned, and the riverfront design that had become the prevailing residential garden type of Agra was chosen instead, and raised to a monumental scale.

The interaction between residential and funerary genres had characterized Mughal architecture from the beginning. In the Taj Mahal the aim was to perfect the riverfront garden and enlarge it to a scale beyond the reach of ordinary mortals, to create here on earth and in the Mughal city paradisiacal garden palace for the deceased.



Ground Layout of The Taj Mahal Complex


The main north-south axis runs through the garden canal and the bazaar street. On it are set the
dominant features: the mausoleum, the pool, the great gate, the Jilaukhana, the southern gate of
the Jilaukhana, and the chauk (square) of the bazaar and caravanserai complex.


 
Back